Firstleaf Reviews

Published on March 12, 2021
Last modified on June 28, 2021

This Firstleaf reviews post contains affiliate links and we were given a sample.  We may be compensated if you make a purchase.  All opinions are our own.

firstleaf-reviews-musa-noctuaria

By Kailey Bertelson

Reviewed by Rebecca Housh, MS, RDN

Firstleaf

Firstleaf Wine was created to be the first consumer-centric wine club to deliver the best selection of wine straight to your door. Every shipment from Firstleaf is completely personalized to your taste preferences. Discover new wines selected specifically for you in each box of 6 or 12 bottles. Trust that your feedback on every bottle matters and will be used in future recommendations for new wines. $40 OFF Your First Order + Free Shipping >>

What We Like

  • Every bottle is completely personalized based on your personal wine profile.
  • Guaranteed satisfaction on every bottle. Love it or send it back for a full refund.
  • Become a wine expert and learn more about each bottle with info cards included in every shipment.

What We Don’t Like

  • Would love curated recipes to connect to each bottle.
  • Would have been nice to hear directly from wine experts and get to know their personalities a little. Adding a new “social” element to the wine experience.

Firstleaf Reviews: How It Works

firstleaf-reviews-generala-paixao

Create your custom tasting profile by taking Firstleaf’s wine quiz. Select your preference of red and whites, determine sweetness levels and tell them about your taste in food. Share how wine-adventurous you are and your level of wine knowledge. Choose what flavors in wines you’re attracted to such as how buttery, crisp or fruity you prefer. You can even select how many bottles on average you drink a month so you’ll have the perfect amount delivered in every box.

Once you take your quiz browse the wines that Firstleaf has selected for you and swap out any bottle for a new one. When you choose to swap, Firstleaf offers the next best recommendation and the Firstleaf favorite. $40 OFF Your First Order + Free Shipping >>

Receiving the box was exciting! Your delivery person will require a signature and ID check on every shipment to ensure you’re the only one that gets to enjoy it. Each box contains an info card on every bottle so you can learn more about its origin, blend, and perfect pairings.

firstleaf-infocard

Sipped away and finished your first shipment of wine? Now it’s time to rate each bottle. Firstleaf curates all future shipments based on your previous ratings to send you completely personalized wine selections. Explore the vast world of wine and refine your tasting profile through every bottle. Basically, Firstleaf trusts you to know what you like/dislike and wants to provide new and exciting options in your own custom shipment!

With every future order you place Firstleaf takes crucial information from your previous orders and tailors each new shipment to include bottles you’ll love. Your ratings will determine every future shipment to ensure satisfaction.

first-leaf-wine-club

Firstleaf Reviews: Wine

For our Firstleaf Wine reviews, we received Old Quarter 2019 Syrah Mendoza, Argentina, Musa Noctuaria 2019 Tempranillo – Garnacha Spain, La Belle France 2019 Bordeaux Blanc Bordeaux AOP, France, Ĝenerala Paixão NV Vinho Branco Portugal, Scissor Kick Cellars 2020 Sauvignon Blanc – Sémillon South Australia, and Whipstitch 2018 Zinfandel Lodi, California.

Firstleaf Unboxing by MealFinds

Read on for details on each bottle, tasting notes, and awards.

Old Quarter 2019 Syrah Mendoza, Argentina

firstleaf-old-quarter

Grapes grown in the best climate of Mendoza develop rich and soft flavors that are perfectly paired with bold grilled meats. Old Quarter contains dark fruit flavors and reflects a strong floral scent in each glass.

As soon as I poured this wine into a glass the room filled up with the strong scent of violets. Sipping was smooth and the flavor lingered on well after finishing a glass. $40 OFF Your First Order + Free Shipping >>

Awards:

  • 91 Points, 2021 San Diego International Wine & Spirits Challenge
  • Gold Medal, 2021 San Diego International Wine & Spirits Challenge
  • Silver Medal, 2021 International Eastern Wine Competition

 

Musa Noctuaria 2019 Tempranillo – Garnacha Spain

firstleaf-musa-noctuaria

Grapes grown in the hot and dry climate of Spain elude a Mediterranean feel of sea and summer nights. They are highly concentrated and balanced in bold flavors, aromas, natural acidity, and tannins. Experience the sea and dark fruity flavors in every glass!

We think that this wine pairs well with a smelly cheese like asiago. Typically, red wine eludes a wintery feeling but with Musa Noctuaria I felt a more summery vibe. The wine is fruity and sweet and would taste wonderful with orange slices.  $40 OFF Your First Order + Free Shipping >>

Awards:

  • Silver Medal, 2021 International Eastern Wine Competition

 

La Belle France 2019 Bordeaux Blanc Bordeaux AOP, France

firstleaf-la-belle-france

Bordeaux is highly respected as one of the best producers of wine. A delicious Sauvignon Blanc comes from vineyards persisting through temperature swings and produces wine with citrus, fruits, and minerals.

I have a strong affinity towards Sauv Blanc, especially from France and this wine did not disappoint. It was the perfect bitterness level and sparkled on your tongue with every sip. $40 OFF Your First Order + Free Shipping >>

Awards:

  • 91 Points, 2020 Sommelier Challenge
  • Gold Medal, 2020 Sommelier Challenge
  • Silver Medal, 2020 USA Wine Ratings
  • Silver Medal, 2020 Harvest Challenge
  • Silver Medal, 2020 Denver International Wine Competition
  • Silver Medal, 2020 Sunset Magazine International Wine Competition
  • Silver Medal, 2020 Critics Challenge: International Wine Competition
  • Silver Medal, 2020 International Women’s Wine Competition

 

Ĝenerala Paixão NV Vinho Branco Portugal
firstleaf-generala-paozao

Vineyards from Portugal produce grapes growing in hot climates with influences of the salty Atlantic ocean. Ĝenerala Paixão NV Vinho Branco is a crisp and light wine that contains bold floral aromas you’ll enjoy drinking on a sun-filled day.

The wine is summer in a bottle. The honeysuckle and orange notes are sweet and citrusy. It smells like an early, moist summer morning with a smooth taste and reminds me of a golden tequila. $40 OFF Your First Order + Free Shipping >>

Scissor Kick Cellars 2020 Sauvignon Blanc – Sémillon South Australia
firstleaf-scissor-kick

Sémillon Sauvignon Blanc blend from Scissor Kick Cellars will make your mouth water. Produced in a Mediterranean climate this wine is lush in acidity and creaminess. Pair with seafood to experience the fresh and tropical vibes this wine delivers.

I was super excited to try a wine from South Australia. You can definitely taste the difference in origin and taste specific notes of lemon and pineapple. I love Sauv Blanc and have a lot of experience drinking it but, this one tasted refreshingly different than others. $40 OFF Your First Order + Free Shipping >>

Awards:

  • 90 Points, 2021 West Coast Wine Competition
  • Gold Medal, 2021 West Coast Wine Competition

 

Whipstitch 2018 Zinfandel Lodi, California
firstleaf-whipstitch

Whipstitch Zinfandel Lodi is Platinum Medal-winning and is full of soft tannins and flavorful fruit notes. Grown in the wine region of California this wine is bold, yet delicate in taste. This wine is elegant and perfectly pairs with meaty dishes rich in flavor.

The taste of baked goods lingered in each glass. This wine was rich, creamy, and earthy. Whipstitch is warm wine with a sweet, buttery aftertaste. $40 OFF Your First Order + Free Shipping >>

Awards:

  • 94 Points, 2020 Sommelier Challenge
  • Platinum Medal, 2020 Sommelier Challenge
  • Silver Medal, 2020 USA Wine Ratings
  • Silver Medal, 2020 Harvest Challenge
  • Silver Medal, 2020 Sommelier Choice Awards

Firstleaf Reviews: Membership

firstleaf-reviews

Become a Firstleaf Wine Club member to receive completely personalized wine selections directly to your door. Leave all the work to Firstleaf to figure out the gritty details of the overwhelming wine world, discover new varieties, and personalize every bottle to your specific tastes.

Firstleaf ships to 45 US states. Unfortunately, Firstleaf cannot deliver to wine lovers located in Utah, Mississippi, Alabama, Hawaii, and Alaska.

Member Benefits

  • Wine selections customized to you
  • Join the Firstleaf community
  • Reach out to Firstleaf’s wine concierge team for any questions/expert guidance
  • Membership pricing. Every Shipment is $90 (6 bottles at $15/Bottle) including shipping
  • Take the Wine Quiz >>

 

Membership Cost

Firstleaf Reviews: Store

Not ready to join the Firstleaf Wine Club just yet?  Or want to order wine that you loved from a past box?  You can shop for individual bottles in the Firstleaf online Wine Store and have them delivered to your door.

In addition, Firstleaf Wine Club members will get Firstleaf wines for around $13 a bottle if they order six or more through the Wine Store. Want more wine?  Order twelve bottles for just $159.95 plus tax with free shipping!  Shop the Wine Store now >>

Firstleaf Reviews: Bottom Line

firstleaf-reviews-scissor-kick-cellars

Firstleaf is the best option for anyone looking to expand their wine knowledge. Considering your personal preferences in wine, refined to the brand Firstleaf sends their best picked, award-winning wines especially for you.

I loved the specific meal suggestions and flavor combinations included on every wine info card met to complement each bottle. Like roast pork, seafood dishes, and bloody red meats Firstleaf has thought of everything you’ll need to know when pairing wines.

I loved exploring the new wine and wish each wine included a special recipe as this would have heightened the tasting experience with each bottle. Recipes inspired by each wine region also create a connection to the source and culture.

Coming from someone who never subscribes to a monthly wine club, I really enjoyed the simplicity, personalization, and guarantees from Firstleaf. New and exciting options being delivered straight to my door was exciting and inspired me to expand my wine knowledge and invest in more wines each month.  And compared to other wine clubs, Firstleaf offers a great value for the price.  I would recommend Firstleaf to anyone wanting to host more dinner parties and experience new wine tastes they can have full control over. $40 OFF Your First Order + Free Shipping >>

Enjoy!

first-leaf-wine-club
Looking for more wine delivery services? Check out our Wine Delivery directory >>

This post has been reviewed and approved by our dietitian Rebecca Housh, MS, RDN, LDN for nutritional accuracy.
rebecca-housh-ms-rdn-ldn-registered-dietitianRebecca Housh is a registered dietitian based in Chicago, IL. She earned a Bachelor of Science in Human Physiology from Boston University and a Master of Science in Human Nutrition from the University of Illinois in Chicago. Rebecca is passionate about the idea of food as medicine in both preventative and therapeutic care. Her current professional interests lie in food security, food access, and nutrition for chronic disease.

Recent Posts

July 22, 2021

RAWgust 30 Day Challenge

July 20, 2021

ModifyHealth Food Delivery Reviews

July 7, 2021

Blue Apron Meals Review